The Fourth of July!!

The Fourth of July has always been one of my most favorite holidays. Going back to my childhood, I have very fond memories of going to local farm-league baseball games in Virginia and staying late to watch the awesome firework displays from the stands with an ice cream cone in hand, crushed peanuts at my feet, the scent of honeysuckle in the air, and my family by my side. I remember one year when my cousins and my younger brother had created their own names for each type of firework, and they yelled them out as each crossed the night sky. “JELLO!!” was my favorite one that they came up with, and I can still hear them yelling it out with excited childhood squeals like it was yesterday. I am so glad that Lakeland also has these types of community celebrations, so that I will be able to continue to build similar traditions with my husband and future family in years to come.

As for this year, I will be enjoying the opening weekend of scalloping with my husband and some of our friends in nearby Crystal River over the holiday (don’t worry – I will have a full description of my experience to share in my next post!). Until then – Hope everyone has a SAFE, HAPPY and SUNNY Fourth of July! 

Leave a Reply

